Site Update: Getting a new PC

Sorry for the lack of updates, I know I’ve promised a great deal of stuff. However I’m in the middle of upgrading to a new computer (had this current one for 3.5 years). So Rifles Ready! will be in a slight holding pattern, probably for 1-2 weeks maximum. I will respond to comments and maybe make a few posts, but I won’t have access to Photoshop or the game itself until the new PC is built and readied. In any case, it appears the COH community itself is in a holding pattern, waiting for the Promised Land where the beta patch will replace the retail game and COH: Tales of Valor will resolve any lingering, outstanding issues like the Allied resource sharing imbalance. Please feel free to leave comments or otherwise reach me. I will have full access to the Internet via my laptop.

20 Responses to Site Update: Getting a new PC

  1. Logabob says:

    Just out of curiosity, are you in the DoW2 beta?

    If so, have you considered blogging about that?

  2. Jaeger_II says:

    Yeah, the DoW2 beta would be interesting to have followed/shoutcasted. πŸ˜€

  3. No, I’m not, unfortunately. I never could really get into DOW for whatever reason, I know the universe inspired Starcraft and I’m a big SC fan, but not DOW for some reason.

    I am thinking of having an SC2 blog, but the community for it will be so huge I doubt I’d make much of a ripple. What do you guys think?

  4. The Hat says:

    Shrug. I’m having trouble getting very excited about SC2. I have a lot of respect for SC1, but it;s not a game I ever got into very much – maybe that’s a good reason for me to pick up SC2 given how similar they’re likely to be, maybe not. If I was to nab SC2, I’d be very interested in reading your insights.

  5. Thanks bro — and trust me, I’m sure you will eventually get SC2. Everyone with a PC practically will. At some point the hype and uproar will be too much for you to resist πŸ˜‰

  6. mechanicalpirate says:

    I must say I’m not too excited about SC2 either. I’ve never played the original, so maybe I should start on SC2. I’m wondering what kind of engine it is built in, the more moddable the better in my opinion. If it could be played with to the extent that WC3 could, I’d make it a must buy.

    On a more on-topic note, although I haven’t commented before I have read this blog for quite a while, and I can’t wait for more updates πŸ™‚

  7. And? says:

    I’m anticipating that modding for SC2 will be the same as every other blizzard RTS – on a map-by-map basis.

  8. Logabob says:

    An SC2 blog would be pure awesome sauce. I’d love to write battle reports; they’re a forgotten art. Of course, it will be a single particle of dust in the universe of SC2 fan-content (articles, reports replays etc) that we will be drowned with upon beta.

    Personally, I found the DoW2 beta to be extremely boring. I’ve been looking to do gamecasts for the longest time in a new, fresh community, but there just isn’t anything to talk about. The original DoW, imo, looks a lot more interesting (never bought it), particularly with VaulSC being such a fantastic caster.

    I’ve had moments of disappointment that SC2 won’t have 5 totally unique super balanced/polished races and that it won’t have sync kills and infantry who jump behind cover etc, but then I remember just how awesome old-school RTS games really are…

  9. 13acon says:

    guys, where are you? i need my fix!

  10. The Hat says:

    ^ Seconded. How’s the new PC process going?

  11. Kat says:

    We miss you πŸ™‚

  12. Michael Schmidt says:

    Indeed.

  13. CptCrunch1 says:

    It’s a real shame this site got so “sleepy”. I usually hit it up atleast once a week. Really enjoyed your writing style, was fun to read.

  14. colonelcommissar says:

    I’d assume that it’s simply a hiatus until the next CoH patch is released.

    I think I remember someone in the gr.org forums saying that the patch is due for release at some point near March 13th (a Friday, no less!), so I’d assume this site/blog to get rolling again some time around then.

  15. Nancie says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Powerhouse Strategies And Tips To Increase Your Odds Of Getting Pregnant

  16. 13acon says:

    more than a month now! this makes baby gsus cry.

  17. Runfree says:

    +1, i hope your new pc hadn’t been destroyed πŸ˜‰ … this blog is great and it’s a rare site on this game that i can access from my work ;)when i’m busy

  18. Jaeger_II says:

    Would definitely be great to see some updates. Hope things are working out. πŸ™‚

  19. cptcrunch1 says:

    ^^ Totally agree, they must be off COH and onto some other game. Boooo!

  20. Lol, I am very sorry guys for being incommunicado. However, in the words of the Rev. Jesse Jackson, always remember to keep hope alive! And keep hope alive! Sorry for the SNL reference. I’m back now, and “other games” had little to do with my absence. Well, I did play some Crysis on my new superfast PC. Just to “test” her out πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

