In-depth: A beginner’s guide to 2v2s

Dumb and Dumber duo
One of the more challenging aspects of 2v2, be it Random Team (RT) or Arranged Team (AT) is the dynamics and ‘relationship’ that your partner and yourself have. It’s easy to decide on what faction you wish to play and even easier to click on the Automatch button, but everything just goes pear shape from there.

“What build order should I go? What should I start with? Is my ally a noob? Why am I matched with high leveled players? Am I competent enough to take the fight to them?”

These are the questions that plague players’ minds when the game begins. I know I ask myself these questions. A lot. :O

The community experience of a 2v2 game is, in my opinion, the bread and butter of any RTS games out there. Sure, 1v1 games and players are held with high regard. No other format tests one’s true skill than a 1v1. But 1v1 does get boring (and lonely). Repetitive motions, no one to communicate frequently with and above all, you do get a little jaded when you’re just crushing higher-level opponents with no one to share your joy after a hard-earned win.

I find 2v2 very rewarding, as the game focuses more on tactics than strategy. There’s a difference between a good tactic and a good strategy. While a good strategy requires a long term plan of action to achieve a victory, a good tactic requires an expert usage of combined arms and/or military units to beat an opponent. In COH context, early game skirmishes are frequent but seldom prolong to a full on battle as units are still scarce, and players are more concerned about capping important points. Good tactics requires the team to work together, and combine their forces to eliminate the opposing force.

2v2, particularly 2v2 AT, is also especially satisfying as you get to develop a good understanding with complete strangers, often from other cities or countries from the other side of the world. Many good 2v2 AT teams (not necessarily high leveled teams, but those with a good synergy) have an open and great ‘online friendship’ that, to the unsuspecting observer, might look like two good friends just swapping friendly jibes at each other. These ‘friendships’ are rather remarkable as often you’ll never to see this person in real life. Yet, you log on Relic Online everyday, hoping your partner is logged on/logging on so you guys can go kick ass on the 2v2 AT ladder.

Over the course of the next few days, I’ll explain what factors every 2v2 player (RT or AT) needs to understand to achieve an overwhelming victory that starts off with a good tactic and ending with a successful strategy. As much as I’d love to share and discuss the nuances of tactics and strategy with you readers, I’m afraid I’m not fully qualified to write about them in detail. I’ll leave that to our evergreen strategy expert Surprise. You are, however, privy to my thoughts on basic tactics and other facets of 2v2.

At the request of CorkscrewBlow, I’ll also sprinkle a 2v2 replay that I’ve played in every now and then to illustrate a point I had made or simply to keep readers satisfied. I might have a tough one on my hands now that corkscrewblow has posted images of his girlfriend! :O

Tomorrow: Luck, and why it’s such an important third ‘ally’ of yours.

3 Responses to In-depth: A beginner’s guide to 2v2s

  1. surpriseprime says:

    Quick question for you adrock, would you recommend playing a little 1v1 for a team player wanting to improve his game when his partner is not around? Or would it be a better idea for him to find someone else to play 2v2 with?

  2. adrock2xander says:

    Hi Surprise. I’ve just recently migrated to 1v1 after 2v2ing for over a year (since 1.5). I find that if one 2v2s exclusively, he’ll reach a skill ceiling where his mistakes are not as quickly punished as his ally is there to cover his ass. Also, in 2v2, you’re less well-rounded.

    I say this now as I’ve just been spending a lot of time on 1v1, watching replays et al. In just about 30 games I found my skills improving dramatically. I found my micro (in 1v1) a little wanting (as I’ve always relied on ally to cover for my deficiencies) but I found the game much more fun to play. Also, when I went back to 2v2, I found that I could get the right unit mix without my ally’s support and still hold my own.

    I short, I’d recommend all 2v2 players to 1v1.

  3. I think 1v1s are generally better for new players, you become a strong individual player thru 1v1s.

    To get good at 2v2s you need a partner who shares your willingness to spend time and effort at getting good, and it becomes much harder to coordinate 2 people’s gameplaying time than just your own for a 1v1.

    but if your awesome at 1v1 the 2v2 skills will not be hard to pick up on, plus it gives you a good gauge to measure the partner you want.

Leave a Reply

